University of Venda UNIVEN Faculty of Agriculture

University of Venda UNIVEN Faculty of Agriculture


The vision of the School is to become a “Centre of Excellence” in Agriculture, rural Development and natural resources management in the region”


The main role of the School of Agriculture, Rural Development and Forestry is to provide professional training to under and post graduate students, providing appropriate knowledge and skills relevant to the needs of government, private sector and farming community .The school aims at excellence in teaching, research and active participation in community outreach programmes in order to promote sustainable livelihoods in rural areas.

The following degrees / diplomas and certificates are offered in the school.

Please note: Computer Literacy(CPL0521/0621) must be taken by all students registered in the School. The module can be taken anytime from the first semester of the first year up to and including the last semester of the final year of study.

Degrees Codes
Bachelor of Agriculture BAGRIC
Bachelor of Family Ecology & Consumer Sci (Home Econs) BFECS
Bachelor of Agribusiness Management BAGBM
Bachelor of Science in Agriculture BSCAGR
Bachelor of Science in Forestry Sciences BSCFOR
Bachelor of Science in Food Science and Technolgy BSCFST
Bachelor of Agriculture Honours BAGRIC(Hons)
Honours in Rural Development HONRDV
Bachelor of Science Honours in Agriculture BSCAGR(Hons)
Bachelor of Science Honours in Forestry BSCFOR(Hons)
Master of Science in Agriculture MSCAGR
Master of Science in Food Science and Technology MSCFST
Masters in Rural Development MRDV
Doctor of Philosophy in Agriculture PhD(Agric)
Doctor of Philosophy in Rural Development PhDRD


  • Agricultural Economics and Agribusiness
  • Agricultural and Rural Engineering
  • Animal Science
  • Family Ecology and Consumer Sciences
  • Food Science and Technology
  • Forestry
  • Horticultural Sciences
  • Plant Production
  • Soil Science
  • Centre for Rural Development

The School of Agriculture can be contacted as follows:


Designation Name Contacts
Dean Prof A G Mchau Tel: +27 15 962 8110
Email: [email protected]
Dean’s Secretary Ms. LA Kone Tel: +27 15 962 8310
Email: [email protected]
School Administrator Mr. MM Maboho Tel: +2715 962 8408
Fax: +27 15 962 8598
Email: [email protected]

Department Specific Information:

If you require more information about a specific department, please contact the Heads of Departments. List of HOD’s and their Contact Details is as follows:

Department Name Contact Details

Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension
Prof. SA Oni
Tel: +27 15 962 8629
Email: [email protected]
Department of Agriculture and Rural Engineering
CK Mmarete
Tel: +27 15 962 8359
Email:[email protected]
Department of Animal Science
DR. O Acheompong-Boateng
Tel: +27 15 962 8300
Fax: +27 15 962 8598
Email: [email protected]
Family Ecology and Consumer Sciences
Prof. LL Maliwichi
Tel: +27 15 962 8626
Email:[email protected]
Department of Food Science and Technology
Prof. I A Jideani
Tel: +27 15 8310
Email:[email protected]
Department of Forestry
Prof A G Mchau
Tel: +27 15 962 8110
Email:[email protected]
Department of Horticulture Science
Prof. GRA Mchau
Tel: +27 15 962 8249
Email:[email protected]
Department of Plant Production
Dr. JBO Ogola
Tel: +27 15 962 8177
Email:[email protected]
Department of Soil Science
Dr. JJO Odhiambo
Tel: +27 15 962 8431
Email:[email protected]